July 3, 2013

  • [Baby.ness] The Tolbert Twins Birth

    A new life. 
    Birth.

    Those words have such a deeper meaning for me now. 
    Just over a month ago, two little-twin boys entered the world. 

    I had the joy and privilege of capturing their story. 

     I’ve technically witnessed the home- births of my three younger brothers… though I was three years old for the first and don’t remember much. 
    But I do remember many things about the other two. It was always a celebration in our home. Welcoming of a new life… the surprise of if it was a boy or girl. 
    Births and how it happens is not unfamiliar to me. 

    This birth, however, was not only my first hospital birth experience, but also the first time I was the photographer for the event. 
    My friends Dan and Robin had been on quite the journey with these little guys. Robin had been on bed-rest at the hospital for ten weeks. 
    Endless prayers were lifted to heaven on behalf of the lives of these two little guys. 

    The day of their birth was no exception. It began and was laced through with prayer. 
    The images tell the story. How after several hours of labor, the first little boy was born, and then moments later… 
    an emergency C-section. 

    For over 45 minutes Robin’s mother and I were left in the quiet waiting room with no word on what was happening. 
    Those 45 minutes were filled with prayer… asking Jesus to spare the life of the second little boy. 

    Prayers were answered. 
    Rilian and Corin were both alive and for the most part, healthy. 

    A month later… the boys are home and doing really well. 
    And yes, there will be more pictures of their cuteness soon. 

    “God never measures the Mind. He always puts His tape measure in the Heart.” [Corrie ten Boom]
    -KM

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *