September 19, 2012

  • [Adventures 2012]: Orphan Eyes

    He doesn’t have a Mommy. 
    He doesn’t have a Daddy. 

    …At least he doesn’t have a Mommy and a Daddy in his life right now. 

    This is my little friend from the orphanage we visited in Ecuador.
    Who wouldn’t want him!? Chubby little cheeks, gorgeous dark-chocolate-eyes… he is darling.

    He needs love. 

    He would come up to me, point at my camera, I would ask to take a photo and he would try to run away, but soon be back again.
    He loved to play… games of his own making. One look into his eyes and I began to wonder…

    I wondered what he will be like when he grows up…
    I wondered if someone will adopt him, give him a home, a family, love… Jesus. 
    I wondered if he will be given a chance to change the world. To live his dreams. 
    I wondered how many people in America could be making a difference in orphaned kiddos lives and aren’t. 
    I wondered when I will be holding orphaned-kiddos in my arms again.

    It does something to you, people.
    Seriously. 

    I wonder. 

    “Waiting on God requires the willingness to bear uncertainty, to carry within oneself the unanswered question,
    lifting the heart to God about it whenever it intrudes upon one’s thoughts.” [Elisabeth Elliot]

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *