June 11, 2013

  • The Thread of Friendship [A Quilt Story]:

    hello.blog.world! 
    I am back. 

    The last several months have been rather a whirlwind and mostly just living life. 
    But there have been some really fun things and projects happening. 
    So I get to share the quilt story with you!

    One upon a time… [over-ten-years-ago]  
    It was a special birthday. And actually, that year of my life was one of my favoritest-ages-ever.
    The sweet-sixteen year. Life was wonderful and I was so contentedly happy.

    On that happy day I turned 16… I was presented with a bag full of cards, letters and most importantly, pieces of fabric.
    Mom had asked friends and family to join in giving me a “friendship quilt”.  
    At the time, life was busy and I knew very little about quilting.  

    Up till a month ago, I still knew very little about quilting… my limited knowledge was not enough to get me even the least bit excited about beginning this project.
    Then God started to work on me a few years ago, asking me to “finish up projects” in my life that have been left-undone. This included the Friendship Quilt.  

    My Aunt Lynn [who lives in Millbrook, one of my favoritest places ever], is a wonderful quilter and gave me the gift of joining her and several other of her quilt friends at a retreat for four days.
    It was the upstairs flat of an old-historic building, the bottom part was a quilt shop. How convenient. *grin*

    I learned a lot in those four days…  

    -How to thread and work my brand new Pfaff sewing machine [who still needs a name].
    -How much I miss being with older people and how much fun it is to meet new friends.
    -How incredible Masala Organic Chai is… and I am now wondering how I ever lived without it.  
    -How projects don’t have to be harder than “taking-it-one-thing-at-a-time”
    -How laughter and good conversations are among the best things in life.  
    -How fun it is to encourage and be excited with others working on projects all at the same time.
    -How my seam ripper really isn’t a necessity if I am careful and detailed. [He only came out once! Hooray!!!]
    -How Jesus loves to be involved with everything. Including providing 7 yards of fabric in the most wonderful color at only $3 a yard!!!!
    -How gluten free pizza may very well become my love language. [If I can stomach the cheese].
    -How incredible it feels to 80% complete a project that has been ten years waiting.  

    So yes, after however many trips to JoAnn Fabrics in the last two months, at least two full days of sewing, countless hours of ironing and pressing,
    learning about new fun tools that make quilting a lot easier and still loving my happy-color-teal… the quilt is done!  
    At least as done as I can get it.  Currently it awaits to be brought to a professional quilter-friend who will machine quilt it for me.

    Then another trip to Millbrook to put on the binding and: “Ta daaaaaaaaa”.    
    So be looking for completed quilt pictures sometime in the next several months.

    Enjoy the journey of the quilt.
    -KM 


    Miss Pfaff who still needs a name. She is wonderful. 

    We did a lot of playing around with squares. So many colors! Had to get them placed just right!

    The first row is done!! YAYYYYYY!

    Ah yes, the Masala Chai… delightful!!

    My Aunt Lynn’s beautiful hands showing me how to use the Purple Thang tool to press open all my seams. 

    All the rows completed!!

    Our group of ladies!

    All layered with back, batting and top… ready to be machine quilted!

    My Mommy signing her square. 

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *