Month: August 2012

  • [Adventures 2012]: “Here”

    [There is a camp in Ecuador where you]: 

    - never know if you will have running water
    - drink out of tin cups 
    - cover yourself in bug spray the moment the sun goes down
    -love on dark-chocolate-eyed kiddos from morning till night
    -find sand e.v.e.r.y.w.h.e.r.e. no matter how much you clean off
    - hang your clothes to dry on a clothes line
    - learn the art of applying and reapplying sunscreen all day long
    - are summoned for meals with a rather annoying but somehow still endearing horn
    - make memories out of everything
    - are greeted in the morning and evening by a singing gecko in your room.

    - see Jesus’s strength made perfect in your weakness. 

    This is written on one of the walls of one of the cabins at camp.
    Every time I walked passed this wall [countless times a day] I would smile. 

    Who wouldn’t?

    I miss it. I miss the joy of being in South America. 

    But it reminds me that Jesus is joy… so joy is here. 
    Here in America. Here… wherever “here” is at.

     

  • [Adventures 2012]: Where I left my heart…

    The walls are painted teal.
    It has wooden desks that are worn with use and not-so-clean.
    A few lonely backpacks adorn the setting… their owners somewhere nearby enthralled by a story, engulfed in games or engaged in a craft.

    In this teal classroom, I found myself reflecting on so many things, so many memories, so many miracles…
    and realizing that there would be a time I was back in America, longing to be here…
    still, quiet and in prayer with the voices of little dark-chocolate-eyed-kiddos echoing in my heart. 

    It was a moment my heart runs back to… like a broken record. It was a pause in the middle of a three week story. 

    I left part of my heart in a teal classroom. 
    A teal classroom in South America. 

     

  • [Love.ness]: England Engagement

    English country-side… I love thee. 
    I love thee even more when I have the delightful privilege of capturing the most photogenic-beautiful couple in front of a romantic castle with the delightfully golden sunset. It was truly dreamy. Truly. The day before Hannah and Jon were to be married, we did a family shoot to get all the family pictures in just in case we didn’t have time the next day. Then they also gave me the opportunity to do an “engagement” shoot. 

    Halfway through our shoot, not only did we have creamy wonderful lighting, but we even had a rainbow appear. yes, really. It was perfect. My heart was delighted.  

    It was wonderful. I could have taken pictures all night long. Just saying.
    During my time in England, I didn’t get very much time in the English countryside… but what I did get was wonderful. Completely wonderful. If I could, I would tour the countryside of England for a month. All the little cozy towns, hostels and tea rooms. Mhmm. Delightful. 

    So yes, I am back from Ecuador and life has once again begun. 
    Laundry. Cleaning. Making lists of things to do. Getting stated on editing Ecuador, then England wedding pictures.
    Life is full. It is full of Jesus. I am learning in deeper ways how to embrace the moment of where I am now… live it to the fullest, abundantly. 

    “Teach me that if I do not live a life that satisfies thee, I shall not live a life that will satisfy myself.” – The Valley of Vision

    -KM
    PS – Check out this loveliness


     

     

  • [Adventures 2012]: Back from Ecuador

    “Well… I’m back!” – Samwise Gamgee

    My heart is more in love with South America than when I left over three weeks ago. 

    I cannot wait to go back. 
    [I know, aren't you surprised]

    I am now back home safe and sound… and kinda.mostly.rested. My camera is contently worn out [and desperately needs to be cleaned after being out of the country three times in less than six months] and there is an abundance of images to share. My heart is full and achy. I miss all my dark-chocolate-eyed kiddos and especially missing my family in Jesus… our incredible team who truly are some of the most wonderful people, ever. 

    The last two days were full of traveling adventures and experiences. I would say two free round-trip tickets is worth being up for over 24 hours, having three different plane delays, an unexpected layover and not getting home till midnight. This entire trip has taught me more about trusting and abiding than any other time in my life. It has been amazing, wonderful, hard, painful and incredible… what a joy to know that HE is trustworthy, faithful, true and in our weakness His strength is made perfect. Yes, truly made perfect. Thank you, Jesus!

    I am thankful for::
    - A beautiful home [everything is so big, clean and wonderful].
    - Hot Showers [balm of amazingness to the soul]. 
    - Running water [brushing teeth and washing hands].
    - Being able to eat real food once again [fresh fruit and veggies, mhmmm]. 
    - “See-you-later’s” [I was never a big fan of "goodbye's"]
    - Waiting on the Lord. [So much has happened. So much is changing].
    - Hope in Jesus [How I love Him. How amazing it is to belong to Him].
    -11 hours of sleep [my bed has never felt so amazing. ever]. 
    -A washer and dryer [four loads of laundry. such a win].
    -Plenty of drinking water [so accessible. so blessed]. 
    -Friends meeting me at the airport [such a surprise and dream come true]. 
    - Worship music [nothing comforts the heart more than worship]. 
    -Favorite dinners [steak.potatoes.salad.veggies... mhm]. 
    -Prayer warriors [so many people praying and so many answers to prayer].

    “For every look at yourself, take ten looks at Christ.”
    -
    Robert Murray McCheyne

    -KM