October 12, 2012

  • [Adventures 2012]: England and Gram

    This is me and my Gram. 
    I love her so much.

    Yes, she is my great-grandma. 
    I hope one day she will be a great-great grandma. 

    She turned ninety this year, still lives on her own, loves the library, walks every day, goes to church, volunteers…
    she doesn’t lead a very slow life. She will even still send us birthday cards in the mail with $5 to get an ice cream. [Yes, she is darling]. 

    She is a WWII veteran, has been a wife, mother, grandma, great-grandma and is probably one of the most loyal, steadfast souls I know. 
    She truly shows me what it means to be there for her family… through very difficult situations. She isn’t perfect. She is simply real. 
    When people would have told her to leave, she stayed and persevered and loved. The hard choice. 

    Gram loves Jesus. 
    I love praying with her. 

    Sometimes, I will just call her out of the blue to talk and see how she is doing. 
    Sometimes I have to remind her exactly who she is talking to because my voice sounds weird on the phone. *grin*
    She calls me “Kristi, dearest” and “Darling” and “Sweetheart”… my heart does happy dances. 

    This week I called her and left a happy voicemail. Three days later, she called me back.
    I laugh and smile so much when talking with Gram. 
    She says the funniest things…

    “You know, darling, I never blame anything on my age!” 
    *eyes twinkling*

    We had so much fun together in England… being silly, laughing. 
    We actually were kinda like two little girls at times… whispering secrets, making friends with all sorts of people, walking arm in arm,  
    going on walks, taking naps, sharing fish and chips at the Eagle and Child, had our first cup of tea and first apple-something-that-was-amazing together.
    We both love to dance… Gram was on the dance floor more than I was at the wedding. [But then again, I was the photographer]. 

    I still am so in awe of the precious of the memories I will have with her in England of all places. 
    Thank you, Jesus… it’s a gift my heart doesn’t even know how to express my thankfulness. 

    This weekend we have another family wedding, no… not in England, in Tennessee. 
    I can’t wait to hug, laugh, smile and dance with Gram again on Sunday.

    -KM 

     

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *