Month: April 2013

  • [Personal]: Spring

    I love Spring.

    I love Spring because it is full of new.
    New life. New chapters. New experiences. New hope. New beauty.

    I love Spring because it reminds me to slow down and linger in the breathtaking beauty surrounding me and to bask in the wonderfulness of my Jesus.

    I love Spring because I remember once again, the overwhelming faithfulness of God evidenced in practical,
    beautiful ways which He had been planning all along, but always choosing to reveal them in His perfect timing.

    I love Spring because it is full of beauty.
    Vibrant colors, delicious smells and wonderful sounds. Simple beauty from an incredible Creator.

    “Behold, I am doing a new thing;
    now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?
    I will make a way in the wilderness
    and rivers in the desert.” [Isaiah 43:19]

    Celebrating Spring…
    now that it is almost May.

    Hooray!

    -KM

  • [Personal]: Pictures!

    Yes, I am a photographer!
    And yes, I know you are or ought to be completely aware of that fact. *grin*
    For those of you who are not photographers, there are quite a few inside-jokes that you may not get. 
    This was posted by a fellow-photographer the other day and I had to laugh…

    Hehe. 

    No, I don’t plan on quitting anytime soon. 
    No, I don’t mind taking pictures of things and people I love. 
    Yes, it does sometimes feel like people expect you to have your camera with you at every event. 
    Yes, it is a lot more work than it seems, but it is worth it. 

    Anyway.

    The last several months have flown by, and within them, many opportunities to “bring my camera along”. 
    I thought it would be fun to show you some of the “random” photography jobs I have the privilege of capturing. 
    They aren’t always your typical portrait sessions. Anything from Chiropractors office to Theater experiences. 
    A fifteen minute portrait session for “school pictures” to photobooth at a friend’s birthday celebration. 

    Yep. About anything and everything. 

    My Chiropractor is one of the neatest and wisest men you will ever meet. Hands down. 
    Not only is he extremely smart and knowledgeable, he is caring and personable with his patients. 
    Usually, when I come for an adjustment (best thing ever) he also has a “joke of the day” waiting to share. 
    They recently moved to a new office and I was able to take some office shots for their facebook page.

    Zimmer Chiropractic

     

    I’ve always had a place in my heart for the world of drama and theater. 
    While God hasn’t had me very involved with that world in the last four years, I’ve been able to capture it instead. 
    My dear friend, Becca has continued directing and her last production, “Anne of Green Gables” was a few weeks ago. 

    Who doesn’t love Anne? 

     

    One of the sweetest blessings in my life the last few years has been “girlnight”. 
    Four of my girlfriends and I (and occasionally some others) meet once a week in an evening. 
    It really can include anything, but the normal is dinner, lots of chatting, backrubs and more chatting.
    Recently, we have been more intentional to go around and get the “update” from each of us and then pray. 

    I am so thankful for these girls. 

    Last week, instead of girl night, we celebrated our friend Elizabeth’s birthday with makeup lessons!
    Did you know that you can tell what lipstick color is best for you by holding it up to your eyes and see if it makes them POP?!
    True story. It also makes for lots of great laughs.

    Speaking of great laughs… 
    put a stack of “Apples to Apples” cards, a bunch of props, a backdrop and camera together and you also get lots of laughs. 

    Yes, it was incredible fun.  

     

     

    Then there is Easter.  
    Yes, wonderful… amazing Easter!
    Seeing as how Indianapolis has like eight inches of snow the week prior to Easter, it was delightful to have spring begin to arrive. 
    Good Friday evening, there was worship at Church. Profound. Powerful. Precious. The message of the Cross… incredible love.
    Easter Sunday at our Church brought such delight to my heart and soul. The worship and message of the Gospel… ohhh!

    “The message of the Gospel is not to ‘try harder’.”

    How I love Jesus. 
    So much. 

     

    Oh, and then the other day… it was my birthday. 
    Mhmm. Really and truly.

    It was a whirl-wind of a weekend including Chick-fil-a, family, friends, English Country Dancing, The Cheesecake Factory,
    a frog-prince (who stayed a frog but is still daring. His name is Fritzwilliam), new shoes, roller blades (ssssoooooooooooooooo excited),
    phone calls, packages, hugs and learning more about grace.
     
    This year was special because I was able to spend part of it with my birthday-baby-girl
    Selena turned TWO… and Miss Kristi, well, Miss Kristi turned a number that begins with “2″. hehe. 

    Are you dizzy yet? hehe. 
    There is your bit-of-an-update. 

    And in case you were wondering…

    Spring is here. 

    “They had been just as surprised as Edmund when they saw the winter vanishing and the whole wood passing in a few hours or so from January to May.
    They hadn’t even known for certain (as the Witch did) that this was what would happen when Aslan came to Narnia…”

    [The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe - C.S. Lewis]