November 3, 2012

  • [Adventures 2012]: Blue Burro

    Some Saturday mornings you wake up at 5am. 
    What else but an adventure would bring you to do so… *grin*

    This morning, I accompanied my Cowboy brother to a Wild Mustang and Burro Adoption in Southern Indiana. 
    Purpose? To adopted a wild Burro. Yes, just a normal Saturday occurrence…. you never know what will happen next living out in the country. 

    I am not a huge morning person. I try. I wish. I want. But it still has yet to become reality consistently.

    This morning I bundled up, realizing winter is around the corner as I could see my breath in the air and was shivering even with three layers on.. we arrived at the Hoosier Horse Park and yes, I fell in love. Burros are seriously the cutest little creatures. Timothy had us get there early since it is a first-come-first-serve basis. It was so much fun to look at them, talk over ideas, which ones we liked, what colors, etc. My favorite part is Timothy explaining and telling me information. Timothy’s dream is to ride across country on horseback. Yes, truly. He has already road to the Ohio River and back in over a week and a half. Horses, even wonderful Mustangs, can only carry so much weight… so cute-as-a-button-burros are wonderful for carrying the back and gear. 

    He knows so much about four legged friends. Seriously. Also, he had his grin on the whole morning, which I love. Double win. 

    After we looked for a while, we had almost an hour to wait till it actually “opened”. There was a gorgeous sunset. Random conversations with other horse people [some of which knew what they were doing, like the lady who drove all the way from Pensylvania and there were others in which Timothy graciously said: "They are gonna be in for a shock... they think taming a wild horse is no big deal... well, wait till the horse tries to kill them." *ahem*]. and then a beautiful rainbow in the dark, still sunless sky. First time seeing a rainbow in the morning… 

    Then he bought her. He almost bought two. But knew he would only have time to invest in a relationship with one. 
    She is a two year old “Blue Burro”… as cute as can be. I am already thinking photoshoot ideas, once she is gentled… 

    So yes, we began talking names…  I suggested Belle. 
    Timothy liked it. So her name is Blue Belle. 

    She is darling. So darling. 

    Ah, life in the country.
    Always an adventure. 

    Time for a nap,
    KM

    “No man who believes in Him [who adheres to, relies on, and trusts in Him] will [ever] be put to shame or be disappointed.” [Romans 10:11]

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *